|
|
|||||||||
|
|
|
|
|||||||||
|
Training and support are available in the following ways:
While most of the standard medical, healthcare, and interdisciplinary databases are appropriate for systematic reviews, Pubmed should be avoided. PubMed lacks certain search functionality (for example, the ability to code for proximity operators), making it difficult to search consistently across multiple databases. However, the biggest problem is that PubMed searches are not reproducible and transparent. Pubmed:
'uses machine learning algorithms working behind the scenes, which are invisible to the searcher. That means that transparency and reproducibility are no longer possible. Transparency and reproducibility are of key importance in scientific reporting and experiments. Without these in the search strategy, a systematic review is the first hurdle when critically appraised.
PRISMA-S (link opens in a new window) was launched in 2020, outlining all the reporting requirements for literature searching in systematic reviews. Item 8 includes the search strategies for each database and information source, copied and pasted exactly as they were run. Note ‘exactly as run.’ This is not possible on PubMed. Medline on the OVID platform (or via EBSCO or another aggregator) is preferred.'
Source: Exploring the Evidence Base (link opens in a new window).
The requirements for systematic reviews will mean that your literature search will need to be more complex and thorough than previous literature searches you may have done. You will need to come up with many synonyms for your search terms, and make sure that you are searching in the title, abstract, and MeSH term fields of every database you use. Ensure you use the boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT correctly. Use other search syntax, such as truncation and wildcards, to ensure your search is as comprehensive and efficient as possible.
Most systematic review search strategies use PICO to frame their search.
Systematic review Search strategies are more complex than those you are perhaps used to; they frequently require tens or even hundreds of lines of search terms, a mixture of MeSH and free text terms, translating search syntax from one database to another, and the use of advanced search syntax such as truncation (using * to truncat* words), proximity (using code to search for words being within a certain number of words adjacent to each other), and wildcards (using? to replace one letter with another).
This guide by the University of Exeter Library (link opens in a new window) explains how to 'decode' search strategies in systematic reviews.
Find the material you need at:
These tools will help you improve the quality of your search strategy.
Pubmed ReMiner (link opens in new window): a tool to help you build your search by showing you the most commonly used free-text and MeSH terms used in articles about your topic
Visualizing Pubmed (link opens in a new window) provides various data visualization formats of the results you find in Pubmed.
InterTASC Search Filters Resource (link opens in new window): a collaborative venture to identify, assess, and test search filters designed to retrieve research by study design or focus
Library of Search Strategy Resources (link opens in a new window): a constantly updated set of resources such as databases, search filters, and tutorials to help systematic reviewers build their search strategies.
SIGN methodology filters (link opens in new window): pre-tested search filters designed to narrow results to particular study design types in a range of databases
Database Syntax (link opens in new window): librarian Janneke Staaks has designed a resource that translates search syntax across the most commonly used database platforms
OECD countries search filter (link opens in new window): search terms validated by NICE to limit your search to specific geographic regions
Country URLs (link opens in new window): list of domains to limit search results to websites from specific countries
Evidence synthesis methods require authors to search multiple databases, and not all databases accept the same search "syntax." Each individual database requires the use of specialized search syntax, and therefore evidence synthesis search strategies must be 'translated' between databases.
For example, a search for vitamin D[tiab] in PubMed will show you all citations with the phrase "vitamin D" in the title, abstract, or keywords, but a search for vitamin D[tiab] in Web of Science will not work at all.
Below is a template that you can use to document your search strategy translations and results, as well as search syntax translation tools and examples. Contact a librarian for assistance with search syntax translation.
Advanced Searching Methods in PubMed - MEDLINE for Systematic Review
Conducting a comprehensive search for your systematic review requires utilizing various techniques beyond basic keyword searching. Here are some advanced methods to consider:
1. Define your research question:
Start by formulating your research question using the PICO (Patient/Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) or PICOS (Patient/Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome, Study Design) framework. This structure helps identify relevant keywords and search terms.
2. Utilize MeSH (Medical Subject Headings):
PubMed uses MeSH, a controlled vocabulary, to categorize articles. MeSH terms offer greater precision than keywords and ensure consistent terminology across the database.
Explore the MeSH Browser (https://meshb.nlm.nih.gov/) to find relevant MeSH terms for your research question.
Use the "Explode" function to automatically include narrower terms related to your chosen MeSH term, expanding your search.
3. Combine search terms with boolean operators:
AND: Use "AND" to combine terms that must be present in the results. For example, "diabetes AND insulin."
OR: Use "OR" to search for synonyms or alternative terms. For example, "heart attack OR myocardial infarction."
NOT: Use "NOT" to exclude irrelevant terms. For example, "diabetes NOT type 1."
4. Utilize search filters:
PubMed offers various filters on the sidebar to refine your search.
Publication Type: Target reviews specifically using the "Systematic Review" filter.
Date: Limit your search to a specific date range based on what you need.
Species: Specify the species involved in your study (e.g., humans, animals).
Language: Choose the language(s) of your interest.
5. Advanced Techniques:
Field-Specific Searching: Use field tags to search specific citation parts, such as title, abstract, or author. For example, "diabetes [title]" searches only titles for "diabetes."
Proximity Searching: Use the "NEAR" operator to search for terms that appear within a specific number of words of each other. For example, "exercise NEAR treatment" finds articles where "exercise" and "treatment" appear close together.
Truncation: Use the asterisk () symbol to capture various word endings. For example, "child" finds "child," "children," and "childhood."
Advanced Searching in Ovid MEDLINE for Systematic Reviews:
1. Exploiting Subject Headings (MeSH):
Identify relevant MeSH terms: Use the MeSH Browser or the "Explode" function to identify relevant MeSH terms and their narrower terms.
Combine MeSH terms: Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine related MeSH terms and achieve comprehensive searches.
Focus on specific aspects: Utilize subheadings (e.g., /诊断 (zhenduàn) for diagnosis in Chinese) to refine your search within a MeSH term.
2. Keyword searching:
Supplement MeSH with specific terms: Use keywords to capture synonyms, jargon, or emerging concepts not covered by MeSH.
Utilize field codes: Specify search fields like title and abstract (.tw) or publication type (.pt) for focused searches.
Employ proximity searching: Use operators like "W/" to find terms within a specified number of words (e.g., "exercise W/3 rehabilitation").
3. Advanced Techniques:
Nesting: Use parentheses to group search elements and define search order (e.g., (exercise OR physical activity) AND (diabetes OR blood sugar)).
Frequency searching: identify highly relevant articles by searching for terms appearing frequently within the database (.fr).
Filters: Limit your search results by applying filters like publication date, language, or study type.
Advanced Searching Methods in Web of Science for Systematic Review:
Note:
1. Utilize the Advanced Search Interface:
Start by switching to the "Advanced Search" option. This allows for building complex search strings combining various elements.
2. Break Down Your Research Question:
Could you identify the key concepts and synonyms for each concept? This helps capture relevant studies using different terminology.
3. Leverage subject headings:
Web of Science offers subject headings and a controlled vocabulary, guaranteeing consistent terminology across the database. Combine keywords with subject headings using the "AND" operator for specificity.
4. Employ Boolean Operators:
Utilize boolean operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT" to combine search terms and refine your results.
"AND" narrows the search by requiring all terms to be present.
"OR" broadens the search by retrieving articles containing any of the terms.
"NOT" excludes irrelevant terms.
5. Explore Field Codes:
Search specific fields within the article, like title, abstract, or author, using field codes to focus your search. For example, "TI (climate change)" searches only titles containing "climate change."
6. Employ citation searching:
The Web of Science shines in its citation network. You can search for articles citing specific seminal texts relevant to your field, potentially uncovering related research.
7. Refines and Filters:
Start with a broad search and gradually refine it using the retrieved results to identify additional keywords or adjust search terms.
8. Utilize filters:
Web of Science offers further filters like publication date, language, document type, and author affiliation to refine your search results after the initial search.
Advanced Searching Methods in Scopus for Systematic Reviews:
Scopus offers various features to conduct a comprehensive and precise search for your systematic review. Here are some advanced methods:
1. Boolean Operators:
Combine search terms: Use AND, OR, and NOT to narrow or broaden your search.
Example: "diabetes" AND "treatment" AND (insulin OR medication)
2. Field-Specific Searching:
Target specific parts of an article: Title, Abstract, Keywords, Author, Affiliation, etc.
Example: TITLE-ABS-KEY ("artificial intelligence" AND "healthcare")
3. Limiters:
Refine results based on criteria: such as publication date, Document Type, Language, Subject Area, etc.
Example: Limit to publications after 2020 and document type "Article"
4. Author Keywords and Subject Headings:
Utilize a controlled vocabulary for precise searching.
Example: "Author Keyword": "diabetes mellitus" OR "Subject Area": "Endocrinology"
5. Wildcards and Truncation:
Expand your search by using "*" to capture various word forms.
For example, "child*” will find "child," "children," "childhood," etc.
6. Explode Search Terms:
Include synonyms and related terms associated with a specific subject heading.
Example: Explode "Diabetes Mellitus."
7. Combining searches:
Save individual searches and combine them using boolean operators for complex queries.
Dimensions offers several features for advanced searching.
It is a valuable tool for conducting systematic reviews. Here are some methods you can use:
1. Keywords and Boolean Operators:
Please refine your search: Employ keywords related to your research topic and combine them using boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to achieve more precise results.
Example: "diabetes mellitus" AND "treatment" AND (insulin OR medication)
2. Field-Specific Searching:
Focus your search: Utilize field codes to search within specific parts of a record, such as title, abstract, author, or publication type.
Example: TI (diabetes mellitus) AND AB (treatment)
3. Publication Date Filtering:
Limit timeframe: Specify the publication date range relevant to your review using the "Publication Date" filter.
Example: Publication Date: 2020-2023
4. Limit by discipline:
Target specific areas: Choose disciplines relevant to your research topic to narrow down the results.
Example: Discipline: (Medicine OR Public Health)
5. Author Affiliation Filtering:
Focus on specific institutions: Include or exclude specific institutions or countries based on your research needs.
Example: Affiliation: (University of California) OR Affiliation: (Saudi Arabia)
6. Search History and Saved Searches:
Track your progress: You can use the search history to revisit and refine past searches. Saved searches allow you to revisit and reuse frequently used search strings.
7. Advanced Search Builder:
Combine methods: The Advanced Search Builder allows you to combine the methods above for more complex searches.
Advanced Searching Methods in OpenAlex for Systematic Reviews
OpenAlex offers various features to support your systematic review search beyond simple keyword searches. Here are some advanced methods to refine your search and ensure a comprehensive review:
1. Filtering by fields:
Keyword Search: Combine keywords using boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to define your research question.
Work Title, Abstract, and Full Text: Limit your search to specific parts of the work where the keywords appear.
Mesh Terms (Medical Subject Headings): Use standardized medical vocabulary for targeted searches in biomedical fields.
Publication Dates: Set a date range to capture relevant publications for your review period.
Author Affiliations: Include or exclude specific institutions or countries based on the research focus.
Funding Agencies: Refine your search based on funding sources relevant to your topic.
Publication Types: Select specific publication types (e.g., journal articles, conference proceedings) based on your review protocol.
2. Combining Filters:
Combine multiple filters using the "and" operator to create highly specific searches. For example, search for articles published between 2018 and 2023 with the keyword "climate change" in the title AND affiliated with institutions in the United States.
3. Utilizing Wildcards:
Use the asterisk () as a wildcard to capture word variations. For example, search for "womn" to include results with "woman," "women," etc.
4. Exploiting "Similar Works" Feature:
OpenAlex allows you to find similar works based on a selected publication. This can help you identify relevant articles related to your initial search results, potentially expanding your search scope.
5. Utilizing Advanced Search Operators:
OpenAlex supports advanced search syntax for precise control over your searches. Refer to their documentation for details on available operators like proximity operators (NEAR, WITHIN), fuzzy matching (ALLOW_FUZZY), and field-specific searching (AUTH: "Smith, John").
| All rights reserved to Directorate of Library Affairs, Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University. © 2023 |
| . |