Systematic Literature Review: Snowballing

Citationchaser: (open it in a new window) A tool for transparent and efficient forward and backward citation chasing in systematic searching.
Paperfetcher: (open it in a new window) A tool to automate hand searching and citation searching for systematic reviews.
Web of Science: (open it in a new window) The Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform that provides users access to various scholarly articles, conference proceedings, and citation data across various disciplines, facilitating in-depth research and academic study.
PubMed: (open it in a new window) PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database, offering comprehensive access to biomedical literature from life science journals and online books.
Dimensions: (open it in a new window) Dimensions is a comprehensive research platform offering access to millions of research publications, grants, patents, and clinical trials, facilitating a wide-ranging overview of the research landscape and trends across various disciplines.
OpenAlex: (open it in a new window) OpenAlex is a free, open database of global scholarly research, including metadata on millions of research works, authors, institutions, and more, designed to support academia and research through comprehensive, accessible data.

Sometimes, it may be appropriate to 'snowball' your search. This involves screening all the articles that cite your included papers (the articles that meet your inclusion criteria after screening). You can search for the titles of each included article in PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus, or Dimensions, and any listed citing article that meets your inclusion criteria should also be included in the review. You will need a Raven login to access Web of Science and Scopus off-campus.

Top tips, guides, and tutorial videos for both PubMed, Scopus, and Web of Science are available on the Library website.

Google Scholar is a free search engine that allows you to search for scholarly articles, books, conference proceedings, and other academic resources. It also provides features such as citation searching and alerts for new publications in your field of interest.
Semantic Scholar is an AI-powered search engine that focuses on academic research. It uses natural language processing to understand the meaning of your search query and return relevant results. It also provides features such as citation analysis and visualization.
Microsoft Academic is a search engine that indexes academic publications from various sources. It provides a faceted search, citation analysis, and author profiles.
CORE is a free search engine that indexes open-access scholarly articles. It provides a faceted search, citation analysis, and author profiles.

Litmaps is a web-based tool that allows you to create interactive maps of scholarly literature. You can use Litmaps to explore the relationships between articles, authors, and keywords.
Connected Papers is a web-based tool exploring the relationships between scholarly articles. Connected Papers can be used to view which articles have been cited by and which have been cited by a specific article.
ResearchRabbit is a platform that allows users to find information quickly by creating brief research papers on any topic.
Inciteful is a tool that gives the world free citations to help accelerate academic research. A citation tool is an online resource that helps users easily find and include relevant citations in their writing.
VOSviewer is a software program that allows you to create various bibliometric maps, including citation networks, co-citation networks, and author co-occurrence networks.