LibGuides: College of Engineering: Research Tools

Select the Required Tab

Research Tools and Websites

Google Scholar

On-Campus | Off-Campus

EndNote Click, Clarivate
EndNote Click -- formerly Kopernio -- is a free, easy-to-use browser plugin that helps you save time accessing full-text journal articles by bringing your institutional subscriptions as well as open access content into your workflow at your point of need.
EndNote Web, Clarivate
EndNote Online is an online version of EndNote you can use to store references online, Sync your EndNote desktop and online libraries, and Share references with other people.
How to access: Create your account via Web of Science
Referencing styles available: 6,000+
Storage for attachments: 5 GB
References you can store: Unlimited
Online resources searchable through EndNote Online: 6,000+
References you can send from databases: 500+
Journal Citation Reports JCR, Clarivate
JCR insights enable you to explore the key drivers of a journal’s value, making better use of the wide body of data and metrics available in the Journal Citation Reports, including the Journal Impact Factor (JIF)™ and the Journal Citation Indicator (JCI)
Patent, Innovations and Entrepreneurship Resources
Patent, a government grant to an inventor of the right to exclude others from making, using, or selling an invention, usually for a limited period.
Patents also are granted for new chemical compounds, foods, and medicinal products, as well as for the processes used to produce them. In some countries, patents can be granted even for new forms of plant or animal life developed through genetic engineering.
PubMed, NLM
PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Semantic Scholar
A free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature
Trip
A smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence.
Trusted Answers
A smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence.

Searched over 125,000,000 times
Over 70% of clinical questions answered
Millions of articles items indexed & uniquely ranked
Twenty years of learning & fine tuning
Web of Science, Clarivate
Provide reference and citation data from academic journals, conference proceedings, and other documents in various academic disciplines.
The Web of Science is a platform that provides access to multiple databases that provide reference and citation data from academic journals, conference proceedings, and other documents in various academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information.

EndNote Alternatives

Deanship of Library Affairs is always committed to provide you the best resources for your research productivity.
Being Saudi Digital Library Consortium partner, SDL has decided to suspend EndNote Desktop License and use other available alternatives.

Don’t worry! if you were syncing your data to the EndNote Online you can still manage all your references on the go, and keep using the power of EndNote Online

Click here to get access

If your EndNote Data is not already synced you can sync it even after EndNote Desktop is expired Read More... Watch following video how to sync your endnote data.

If you want an alternative reference management software, there are wonderful options available for you.

Option 1

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.

Collect with a click: Zotero is the only software that automatically senses research on the web. Need an article from JSTOR or a preprint from arXiv.org? A news story from the New York Times or a book from a library? Zotero has you covered, everywhere.
Organize your way: Zotero helps you organize your research any way you want. You can sort items into collections and tag them with keywords. Or create saved searches that automatically fill with relevant materials as you work..
Cite in style: Zotero instantly creates references and bibliographies for any text editor, and directly inside Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs. With support for over 9,000 citation styles, you can format your work to match any style guide or publication.
Collaborate freely: Zotero lets you co-write a paper with a colleague, distribute course materials to students, or build a collaborative bibliography. You can share a Zotero library with as many people you like, at no cost.
Stay in sync: Zotero can optionally synchronize your data across devices, keeping your notes, files, and bibliographic records seamlessly up to date. If you decide to sync, you can also always access your research from any web browser.

Ready to try Zotero?

Zotero is available for Windows, MacOS, Linux with additional Plugins

Learn more using Support Page

WatchVideo Tutorials Arabic | English

Option 2

Using Mendeley you can

Access your library, everywhere: Add papers directly from your browser with a few clicks or import any documents from your desktop. Access your library from anywhere. Windows, Mac, Linux and all browsers.
Easy referencing: Generate references, citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles with just a few clicks.
Build your Research network: 30 million references and over 6 million researchers to discover. Our personalized recommendations makes staying up to date easy.

Join millions of researchers using Mendeley

And it is for everyone of you either using Windows, Mac, Apple or Android

Learn to use through Help Guide

WatchVideo Tutorials Arabic | English

Option 3

RefWorks is a web-based commercial reference management software package subscribed through Saudi Digital Library.

You can create account by visiting the following URL using IAU email.

https://refworks.proquest.com/researcher/

Learn to use through Help Guide
WatchVideo Tutorials

From further questions and queries please contact library@iau.edu.sa

Booking a Research Device

Deanship of Scientific Research at IAU has initiated a new facility to book research devices;

There are hundreds of devices available for booking, e.g. Real Time PCR, Microplate Reader, Microplate Washer, Microplate Washer, Mercury Survey Meter, Infra-red Actimeter and laptops.

`Device Booking Link` https://rds.iau.edu.sa/

Instructional video English

Instructional video Arabic

Tools similar to Chat GPT for academic use

Here's a list of a few lesser-known tools which academicians can use. At the same time, most of these tools are paid for.

𝗪𝗿𝗶𝘁𝗲𝗳𝘂𝗹𝗹 𝗫

A tool to aid in scientific publishing: title generator, abstract generator, paraphraser and academized. It can convert your text to give it a more academic feel.

𝗣𝗲𝗻𝗲𝗹𝗼𝗽𝗲:

It is a Manuscript editing tool that ensures your manuscripts meet the journal requirements.

𝗜𝗿𝗶𝘀:

A complete research platform helps you search, filter, analyse, extract, summarise, automate and report data.

𝗦𝗰𝗶𝘁𝗲:

An AI-powered citation finder for a given text.

𝗘𝗹𝗶𝗰𝗶𝘁:

A wonderful tool for literature review and text summarisation

𝗧𝗿𝗶𝗻𝗸𝗮:

It includes a grammar checker and language correction AI tool for academic and technical writing.

𝗦𝗰𝗶𝘀𝗽𝗮𝗰𝗲:

AI-powered research copilot to decode any research paper. Just highlight the text and it will rewrite it in simpler words.

Consensus

An AI tool that provides research-backed answers to questions on specific topics, such as economics, sleep, social policy, medicine, mental health, and health supplements.

ResearchRabbit

An AI tool that helps you find relevant and high-quality sources for your research. Research Rabbit uses NLP and machine learning (ML) to analyze your research topic and keywords and generate a list of sources that match your criteria.

ChatPDF

ChatPDF is an AI-powered platform that allows users to interact with their PDF files as if talking to a human. With ChatPDF, users can quickly extract information from large PDF files such as manuals, essays, legal contracts, books, and research papers.

ChatDOC

ChatDOC is an AI assistant that can read files and swiftly locate, extract, and summarize information from documents and PDFs. It enables you to read faster and learn better.

College of Engineering: Research Tools